Mobile Español | Sitemap
Library Vote Results: Budget 265 Yes 105 No. Trustee Results: Joseph Maiorana re-elected, 281 votes for a 5 year term. Trustee Mario Vigliotta re-elected, 267 votes for a two year term. Thank you for your ongoing support of our Library.
Children's Featured Books
Tugboat.
"A tugboat has many jobs, keeping it busy from morning 'til night. This book shows how such a little boat can do big jobs. Includes a glossary at the back"-- Provided by publisher.
The three little pigs.
Retells the story of the three little pigs who leave home to find their fortune, only to meet up with the big bad wolf.
Papa is a poet : a story about Robert Frost.
"When Robert Frost was a child, his family thought he would grow up to be a baseball player. Instead, he became a poet. His life on a farm in New Hampshire inspired him to write "poetry that talked," and today he is famous for his vivid descriptions of the rural life he loved so much. There was a time, though, when Frost had to struggle to get his poetry published. Told from the point of view of Lesley, Robert Frost's oldest daughter, this is the story of how a lover of language found his voice"-- Provided by publisher.
Grandfather Gandhi.
"Mahatma Gandhi's grandson tells the story of how his grandfather taught him to turn darkness into light in this uniquely personal and vibrantly illustrated tale that carries a message of peace."--Amazon.com.
Alligators are not pets.
Young readers who pick up this volume in the When Pets Attack! series expecting a great deal of gory excitement may be disappointed to learn that only four pages directly address the dangers of alligators. However, the book is loaded with fascinating facts about alligators. For example, they are found only in China and the southeastern U.S.; the jaw holds the key to telling the difference between an alligator and a crocodile; and they can run up to 11 miles per hour in pursuit of prey. The photos—of alligator handlers, baby gators popping through eggs, and so on—are intrinsically interesting though sometimes presented without sufficient context. Still, this is effective enough to draw in reluctant readers and give anyone curious a basic alligator overview. Grades 3-5. --Connie Fletcher
Poem depot : aisles of smiles.
Artist, poet, and award-winning author Douglas Florian successfully captures the comedy of kids’ everyday lives with this jam-packed volume of 170 nonsense poems. Meander through the different aisles—such as “Jests & Jives” or “Tons of Puns”—to find everything from laugh-out-loud limericks to frenetic free verse. With Florian’s eccentric wit and off-the-wall drawings, this one-stop funny poetry shop is perfect for fans of Where the Sidewalk Ends.
We go together! : a curious selection of affectionate verse.
"A collection of illustrated poems of love and friendship teeming with wit, whimsy, and wordplay from New York Times bestselling author- illustrator, Calef Brown"-- Provided by publisher.
Helen Keller's best friend Belle.
Shares details about Helen Keller's early life, including her love for animals and her special relationship with a devoted Great Dane named Belle, who was a faithful companion to Helen throughout her younger years.
Foodfight.
When the lights are turned off and the doors are locked, chaos reigns supreme for the products in this grocery store.
The unfairest of them all.
In the aftermath of Legacy Day, Raven Queen, reluctant leader of the Rebels, and Apple White, head of the Royals, work together when an Ever After High student, Maddie, gets in trouble, threatening all of their Happily Ever Afters.
Dare the wind.
Describes how Ellen Prentiss received sailing lessons from her father during childhood, married a ship captain, and helped set a world speed record during the Gold Rush era.
The tree lady : the true story of how one tree-loving woman changed a city forever.
Learn about Katherine Olivia Sessions who brought trees to San Diego and created what eventually became Balboa Park.
The woman who invented the thread that stops bullets : the genius of Stephanie Kwolek.
"Read about Stephanie Kwolek and her incredible invention"--Provided by publisher.
Let's go, baby-o!
While engaging in twisting, twirling, and wibble-wobble games, a toddler builds verbal communication skills while gazing out the window at his grandparents and pets, in a rhythmic tale that encourages conversations.
Stella's starliner.
Stella is unnerved by a bullying group of weasels who say mean things about her humble home until her mother offers words of comfort and her father drives the trailer to a new location where kind friends are found.
Gazpacho for Nacho.
Nacho eats only one thing, gazpacho, but a trip to the market with his mother might tempt him to try something new.
Hannah's night.
When Hannah wakes suddenly in the night, she discovers a whole new world of adventure. With nobody awake to tell her off, she can do just as she pleases. The book combines simple language with beautifully textured images, capturing the innocence and wonder of young children at play.
Oliver's tree.
Oliver the elephant loves playing hide-and-seek but cannot tag his friends, Lulu and Charlie, when they hide in trees--their favorite spots--so they work together to find a tree where all three can play together.
Tippy-tippy-tippy, splash!
Fed up with the constant presence of rabbits in his house and yard, Mr. McGreely goes to the beach for some fun but the pesky pufftails will not give him a break.
Tools rule!
In a messy yard, a team of tools gets organized, then spends a busy day building a shed.
Hot Rod Hamster : monster truck mania!
The award-winning, bestselling team Cynthia Lord and Derek Anderson are back with the best Hot Rod Hamster adventure yet: Monster Truck Mania! It's Fair Day, and Fearless Franco's famous Monster Truck Mania has come to town. Hot Rod Hamster and his friends are geared up for a roaring, soaring great time, so they set out to find the best ride at the fair. The water boats, spinning teacups, and bumper cars are great, but Hamster can't seem to find the BEST ride. That is, of course, until Fearless Franco needs a last-minute back-up driver for his monster truck. Can Hot Rod Hamster help him out, and still find the best ride of all? In this rollicking new adventure, Hot Rod Hamster proves once again that being small doesn't mean you can't think BIG!
Glitter kitty.
It's the day of the Meowtown Dance Competition, and Cuddles has spent the morning in the salon, at the shops, and practicing her favorite dance routines. So perhaps it's not surprising that her afternoon catnap lasts longer than it should. Will Cuddles get to the competition in time, and will all her efforts allow her to shine on the dance floor?
My cat copies me.
A little girl and her cat share a special bond as they explore the world.
Monster chefs.
Tired of eating only eyeballs and ketchup, a horrible king sends his four monster chefs out to find something different for him to eat, with surprising results.
Matilda's Cat.
Matilda's cat doesn't like climbing trees, playing with wool or riding bikes. But there is one thing that Matilda's cat does like.
Going places.
Rafael has looked forward to the Going Places contest and builds his go-cart from a kit in record time, but his neighbor, Maya, has a much more interesting and creative idea for her entry and Rafael decides to help.
Shoe dog.
In order to stay in the warm and cozy home he has longed for, Shoe Dog must learn to stop chewing shoes.
The good-pie party.
Posy Peyton and her friends are very sad that she will be moving away, but when they try to cheer themselves up by baking a pie, they realize that Posy's leaving does not have to mean saying goodbye.
The amazing Spider-Man 2.
Peter Parker runs the gauntlet as the mysterious company Oscorp sends up a slew of supervillains against him, impacting on his life.